PharmaCyte Biotech has established an international Diabetes Consortium that consists of world-renowned physicians and scientists from several countries, all of whom share the same goal of developing a treatment for insulin-dependent diabetes.

In addition to the Chief Executive Officer, Chief Operating Officer, Chief Scientific Officer and Chief Medical Officer of PharmaCyte Biotech, the Consortium is made up of well-known physicians and scientists from leading Universities in Munich, Germany, Mannheim, Germany, Vienna, Austria, Barcelona, Spain, Copenhagen, Denmark, and Sydney, Australia  It also involves members from the Karolinska Institute in Stockholm, Sweden, the Vorarlberg Institute for Vascular Investigation and Treatment in Feldkirch, Austria and the biotech company Austrianova in Singapore.

Dr. Eva Maria Brandtner leads the Consortium and is PharmaCyte Biotech’s Director of Diabetes Program Development. Dr. Brandtner, who is a consultant for PharmaCyte Biotech, previously served as the Chief Scientist with Austrianova.  In that role, she conducted preclinical studies with the Melligen cells.  Prof. Ann. M Simpson and her colleagues at the University of Technology Sydney developed the Melligen cell line.  Prof. Simpson is a member of the Consortium and also serves as a consultant to PharmaCyte Biotech.

In addition to key personnel from PharmaCyte Biotech, Dr. Brandtner and Prof. Simpson, the Consortium includes Prof. Dr. Walter H. Gunzburg, the Chief Scientific Officer of PharmaCyte Biotech and the Chief Technical Officer of Austrianova, and Dr. Brian Salmons, the Chief Executive Officer of Austrianova and a member of PharmaCyte Biotech’s Scientific Advisory Board.  It also includes Dr. Constantine Konstantoulas from the University of Veterinary Medicine Vienna who coordinates the daily activities of the Consortium and works on many of the preclinical studies being done to develop PharmaCyte Biotech’s diabetes treatment.  Outstanding research scientists Prof. Dr. Eckhard Wolf and Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Wanke from the Ludwig-Maximillian University (LMU) in Munich, Germany are also key members of the Consortium. Both, together with their colleagues at LMU, have developed unique animal models for insulin-dependent diabetes.  The Consortium’s other key members include Prof. Dr. Thomas Stratman of the University of Barcelona in Spain and Prof. Dr. Axel Kornerup Hanson of the University of Copenhagen in Denmark.

Finally, noted European gastroenterologist and oncologist, Prof. Dr. Matthias Löhr of the renowned Karolinska Institute in Stockholm, Sweden, is playing a major role in overseeing the development of PharmaCyte Biotech’s diabetes treatment.  Prof. Dr. Löhr is an expert in the treatment of diabetes and has extensive experience in the clinic using the Cell-in-a-Box® technology because he served as Principal Investigator for the early-phase clinical trials that involved the combination of that technology and the cancer drug ifosfamide.  Prof. Löhr is also a consultant to PharmaCyte Biotech and serves as the Chairman of its Medical and Scientific Advisory Board.